Jump to content


Photo

KX-131 (KPC-S226C) Video Problems


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 skola28

skola28

    RC-Cam'er

  • Members+
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
  • Location:Cedar Rapids, IA, USA
  • Interests:Aviation, Space, Electronics,

Posted 18 February 2007 - 12:57 PM

I recently bought a KX-131 cased camera, and hooked it up to my aircraft. The first day everything looked fine, but when I tried the system out the next day, the only thing that would show up on my screens/monitors/recorders was a blank white screen; as if that was the only thing being sent out by the camera.

Has anyone heard of this or ran into this problem before? I sent an email to the store that i bought it from and I am waiting on a reply. Hopefully warranted against this failure!

#2 Mr.RC-Cam

Mr.RC-Cam

    RC-Cam Mentor

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,654 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:R/C video and photography.

Posted 18 February 2007 - 01:13 PM

Are you sure it is the camera? Have you tried another video source?
- Thomas

#3 skola28

skola28

    RC-Cam'er

  • Members+
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
  • Location:Cedar Rapids, IA, USA
  • Interests:Aviation, Space, Electronics,

Posted 18 February 2007 - 01:19 PM

I actually plugged the camera straight into my TV (bypassed all the wireless tx/rx stuff). I subsequently plugged my Gamecube into the same video port on my TV to make sure it wasn't an issue there.

#4 Mr.RC-Cam

Mr.RC-Cam

    RC-Cam Mentor

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,654 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:R/C video and photography.

Posted 18 February 2007 - 01:28 PM

I don't have a good feeling about it. Sounds like the board camera needs repair. But, maybe someone else will have a solution for you.

The one thing you should carefully check is the camera voltage, right at the camera itself. The voltage should be very close to 5.0VDC (+/- 0.25V). Lower voltages may cause odd things to occur, higher voltage may damage the camera.
- Thomas

#5 Terry

Terry

    RC-Cam Mentor

  • Trusted Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,079 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bridgwater,UK
  • Interests:Aerial Photography

Posted 18 February 2007 - 01:29 PM

I seem to remember a issue with mounting screws that could damage the board, maybe this is your problem ?

Terry

#6 skola28

skola28

    RC-Cam'er

  • Members+
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
  • Location:Cedar Rapids, IA, USA
  • Interests:Aviation, Space, Electronics,

Posted 21 February 2007 - 07:41 AM

As an update. I took the back of the case off, and indeed there was damage from a screw. I deduced that it could not have been me that damaged the board, since the screws I used couldn't possibly have traveled that far into the case (ie: they aren't physically long enough).

I emailed Vova at rangevideo to see if he would still replace it, but I am not sure this will do any good. He has only my word that I didn't damage the board; and on the internet that usually doesn't go very far.

I'll let you know how things go...

http://www.rcgroups....ad.php?t=644584
That is the link to the pictures of the damage.

#7 ThomasScherrer

ThomasScherrer

    RC-Cam Mentor

  • Members+
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 492 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Denmark
  • Interests:Electronics-Radioamateur-Modelplanes-Video-Homebrew electronic projects.

Posted 06 March 2007 - 06:32 AM

the track that is brokes is easy to repair,
just solder a thin wire accross it, use a razor blade to remove the soldermask to get access to the copper.
the big part that is broken, I can not really see if it is a capacitor tantal ?
or a ferite bread or a power diode ?
more closeup with better zoom needed for that, they you can repait it,
but how did you brake of that part in the mittle ? of the board ?
Thomas Scherrer OZ2CPU www.webx.dk

#8 Kilrah

Kilrah

    RC-Cam Mentor

  • Trusted Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,079 posts
  • Location:Switzerland
  • Interests:Modelling, electronics, computers

Posted 06 March 2007 - 09:34 AM

Thomas, detailed photos on the part are on the linked thread. To me it looks like a ferrite. I guess the screw that broke the trace also shorted the 2 pins that look damaged, whick broke the component and maybe other stuff...