I am new to this 'wireless video' stuff and have a few general questions. I have searched through the forum and haven’t found any topics that address them directly but please forgive me if I overlooked them ...

Crash Worthiness

I used to work for a UAV (with video downlink) company and we crashed airplanes all the time. The electronics were almost always reusable even in the airframe was thrashed. I fly combat gliders (as well as other higher performance sailplanes) and have a project in mind. I think it would be fun to build an EPP A-10 and install a camera in the engine nacelle. This would be cool because I could capture our aircraft crashing into each other. I wonder, would the electronics survive ... I think so but what is your guys experience?

About cameras ...

I notice that people focus on a few of them all of which seem to be Panasonic. The CX161 is common and the CX171 seems to be a rarity. Black Widow sells KX121 and KX141 (if recollection serves) ... what should one be looking for in a camera? My guess is that any of these four will do me well ...

Transmitters...

Knowing that I intend only to fly slope gliders well within visual range I wonder what transmitter power will be required. I know this is a difficult question as it depends on many factors but generally is 200mw enough?

Package Deals ...

I am a fairly tech savvy person, and am quite sure I can put one of these systems together myself. However, I am a working man and don’t have all the time in the world to devote to this project. I have noticed that Black Widow sells everything I need to get the job done. I am thinking that I could get his brown bag kit with a 200mw tx and perhaps upgrade the camera (assuming that the kit comes with the KX121 and that the KX141 is better). Has anyone here purchased his brown bag kits and would you suggest just getting a completed package instead?

Batteries ...