qb7

Video System Wiring - Help?

Hi all, I'm new to RC-CAM and expect to be hanging around here quite a bit; great information!

I picked up a Tx, Rx, and small CCD camera without any wires or cables; price was right. Now I need some advise on wiring the video system. Specifically, what kind of wire or cable and connectors should I use, and where specifically I can buy such supplies? So....type and gauge power wire from the battery to the transmitter and camera. Also, what kind of cable is required from camera to transmitter for video. I have attached a wiring diagram of what I plan if that will help, and a pic my tx and cam minus the battery and two DE regulators. Just to let you know, I did have it wired up at one point using just 18awg speaker wire to test. It does work, but with a lot of interference.

I did a search and found a coax cable that might work well. Take a look when you get the chance http://bwccat.belden.com/ecat/pdf/179DT.pdf. The cable has an nominal diameter of .1" (2.54mm) and is shielded. States it is suitable for digital video. I would think that both the power cables and video cable would have to consist of some sort of shielding from EMI and other types of interference. As shown in the pic, I have the wire that connects into the cam, but would like to replace that as it is old and does not look to very efficient.

Before I install this on my Logo10, I will play around with it on my TrexSE, so I am trying to keep the cabling as light a possible without compromising integrity of video signal. Basically, I will be mounting cam on a small gimbal on the front of the Trex. The av sys batt will be up front as well as the av tx.

So apart from what type/gauge cabling, would anyone also have any specific online sources?

post-5-1168111935_thumb.jpg

Edited by qb7

You will have interference, it's better to use a second battery for the video