Sign in to follow this  
Delcam

Got my license!

Mr RC-Cam,

thanks to your forum and the repeated message that one should have a HAM license to operate the airborne video equipment on 2.4 GHz, I studied for some time and did the exam. I passed with only one faulty answer and hence got my full license as an amateur radio operator! My call sign is PH7JDE.

Thanks a lot for the encouragement on this and the previous forum!

Delcam PH7JDE, the Netherlands

Congratulations. My henpecking paid off! ;)

Do you feel that what you learned during your studying will enhance your wireless video efforts? Was the effort as hard as you thought it would be?

I ask because there are some folks who seem to go out of their way to find ways to avoid getting a ham license. My opinion is that if that same effort went into a little bit of studying, the resulting ham license will take care of the legal issues. And the new ticket holder will know a little bit more and might be better prepared to handle the basic RF stuff.

Now that you are a ham you get to help spread the word to others that it is a good thing to have.

Mr RC-Cam, Thomas,

It took me a week of concentrated studying in the evening to get a grip on the electronics part and I made an audio cassette to play in the car driving to and from my work to learn the legal stuf and regulations as required. I got the 400 page book from the Dutch Radio Amateur League and read it completely without studying the details first some weeks ago and the week before the exam was the week mentioned above. The exam was 50 multiple choice questions. 6 on regulations and law, the remainder on technical matters. I had one fault.

It wasn't hard to do but I like to hobby on electronics so I knew a thing or two before..(no fancy stuff however)