dalbert02

Which pic?

I am suffering from a bit of ignorance and I was hopeful that someone could help me out. I want to build some of RC-CAM's wonderful projects, but I am totally new to PICS. I just bought a PIC Programmer (Olimex USB w/ ZIF) and it seems to communicate just fine with Microchip's MPLAB Software. My problem or question is, what PIC chip do I buy? For example, take the PanCam project, it specifies a 12c509x chip. When I go to Mouser, I see a PIC12C509A but with the following suffixes: 04I/SN, 04/SN, 04I/P, 04/P, 04I/SM. Such as PIC12C509A-04I/SN. So which of the PIC12C509A chips do I buy?

Thanks,

-dave

The suffixes denote temperature range and package. For hobby use, ignore the temperature performance. Just pick a PIC that has the package style you want (DIP, SOIC, etc.).

BTW, you can use the newer PIC12F508/509 instead. The PIC12F series are FLASH devices that can be re-used (don't let your chip programming system erase the factory written OSCAL value).

Thank you. I read the spec sheets for each and now understand. I have always used DIPs and shy away from SMD so SOIC and DFN were new concepts.

-dave

Well, after figuring what was necessary to program the flash part, and what oscal was all about I find that the Loma works but seems to detect a signal absence or power failure (on it's own) as it will never time out for the low power mode. MPLAB ICD2 allows looking at and changing the oscal value and this has been checked. Will the fact that the 12F part runs instructions at 200Ns and the 12C part 1Ms have any impact on the code execution? I am only using the part due to cost. I have a few of these to build for our club as we move from beans to corn next year and we fly a bit of combat. Having not built with the 12C, and if no correction need be made I will try some of the original spec parts to see what happens. Fred