Vedremmo

RC Video Helicopter For News Organization?

Hello!

I'm a producer at a news website that does Internet video for a major newspaper on the East Coast.

We're interested in using an RC Helicopter for breaking news or general shots as we hardly have the budget for the full-scale news chopper.

We are thinking about investing about $1,000 to start off with.

Is this even feasible? If so, does anyone have any suggestions?

FYI: Neither I nor any of my colleagues have much knowledge of RC devices or electronics.

We do however have backgrounds in conventional cameras and video.

Any advice would greatly be appreciated!!!

Thanks,

Brian

We're interested in using an RC Helicopter for breaking news or general shots as we hardly have the budget for the full-scale news chopper.

Given the painfully small budget and lack of R/C and electronics experience: I suggest that you partner with a local photographer that uses R/C models for aerial work. Start by checking the RCAPA.net database for someone close to you.

Hi Brian,

I am currently building a helicopter system for a movie production crew. It's probably a bit more than you need, but I can affirm as well that your price range is not even close. You can PM me and I'll give you more realistic number if you are interested.

Well.. I'd originally be of the same opinion, quoting a minimum realistic amount maybe 10 times bigger.

BUT. With my recent experiences with cams on small helis (400 electric series), and noting the "Internet video" characteristic, something much easier might be possible.

There's no need for a 3-axis stabilised gimbal with HD camera and full mission autopilot to grab a few short shots that will end in youtube-quality FLV on a website.