Sign in to follow this  
dc812

LMA Enhancements

Has anyone considered adding an RX voltage check on startup to the RC-CAM LMA? I fly slope gliders, and I have built a couple and they work great when hunting for you plane, but would like to add an audible voltage check on startup and a audible voltage monitor to let me know that my RX battery is in good shape before I launch, and to monitor voltage and warn me if the RX battery get low.

What do think, anyone added this to the LMA project. Anyone interested in helping me figure out how to add this to the programming?

Let me know, could make a great project even better.

DC

Here is an example of a Low Voltage Detect hack for LoMA.

CAM;

Thanks for the quick response.

I am new at this PIC stuff, but I can already forsee the great potential of using PICs. In regards to the LMA, I have a couple of questions:

1. Does the hack below use the RC-CAM LMA as a basis?

2. Are there any notes associated with the scymatic on operation and/or building?

3. Is the original RC-CAM LMA's programing open source...ie is that something that is available to be updated to include startup voltage status and operation voltage monitoring?

Ultimately, I would like to design/build a LMA that is able to do the following:

- Voltage check/verification with audio confirmation at startup.

- Low battery warning during operation (slopers fly a long time)

- Glitch count with audio confirmation

- LMA w/power save

- Would like all functions to be automatic, I want to avoid having to accomidate setting a jumper to check glitch count etc. This is because many slope designs bury the RX so it isn't readily accessable.

Thanks in advance for any advice/guidence.

R,

DC

1. U1 is the LoMA PIC. If you compare the LoMA schematic to the hack schematic you will clearly see the additions.

2. LoMA's construction is shown on the project's web page. The low voltage hack is not discussed.