This forum is terrific, but it took a bit of searching to find it.

I am an aviation photographer, with experience in flying military jets. As well as taking my SLR in the cockpit, I am planning to mount some DSLR cameras in a special pod to take pictures of the outside of the aircraft.

As the military don't like me drilling holes in their jets, in order to run cables, I am interested in using some form of Radio Control to fire the shutter. Can this be done in a two stage action - to prefocus before the shot?

I also want to mount a live feedback video camera in the viewfinder, so that I can see exactly when to take each photograph. This of course, will also have to be transmitted back to me in the cockpit. Does anyone have any suggestions for a small, compact receiver and viewing screen to suit my environment?

At times I may also be in another aircraft, up to 1000ft away, and will still need to take the photos (and therefore see the video transmission).

Anybody see any other potential problems, or have advice?

Thankyou in advance, Mike. :)

www.actionairimages.com

Anybody see any other potential problems, or have advice?

As simple as it sounds, this is a tough application. You would need to transmit from/to the external camera gear while you are comfortably inside the airplane. Have you confirmed that the metal skinned aircraft will allow you to transmit a signal through the hull? It will definately attenuate the RF, so the 1000' range requirement will need special consideration.

IR based solutions will not work well due to the strong ambient light. I would assume that there may be some restrictions to the RF freq and power that the flight engineers will allow you to use (RF gear is not welcome on most aircraft). Start with finding that sort of info -- then you can go from there.