Sign in to follow this  
Alex Villa

Artificial Horizon OSD and more

Hello, Found this forum goggling about FPV, although I never wrote a post before I have been reading a lot.

My grammar sucks, I am sorry but english is not my native language.

The first reason I came here was searching info about autopilots, and as a start point for that I started a project to make an attitude indicator OSD. Since I have some experience with video signals and PICS ill try to fulfill some requirements that people make to existing OSD's.

For attitude sensor I choose an mma7260Q three axis accelerometer it cost only 6$ at mouser. Way cheaper and better than thermopiles.

I bought a cheap MPR in EBAY (Lyra X2400A) and it is very sensitive to signal lost. To make it work, OSD have to generate synch pulses in absence of video, instead of that I choose to generate synchs all the time and overlay the video part of the incoming signal on the generated synchs.

The hardware is composed of two boards, one board implements the video and on screen display (OSD) process based on a DSPIC30F3013. It generates a complete NTSC signal and overlays characters and graphics in the absence of video input. When video is present, it is used to synchronize with the complete set of synchs generated and video is displayed also, the way that it is implemented allow the restoration of distorted synchs aside from better tolerance to video link problems.

The Other board (Sensor Board) has the sensors (pressure, accelerometer and voltage).

The project is in progress, now i m trying to use the vertical blanking interval, or the first hidden lines in the video signal to send the data, since OSD will be added at ground, and dont want to use a separate modem.

Actual project status is in this sample video .

I will appreciate a lot, if people here give me some thoughs about this, because i am a complete newbie to rc models and my first RC fly is still for comming.

Hmm, pretty nice :)