cwd10

New to microcontrollers. Need help PICking one out

Ok. here's the deal. I'm a seasoned electronics tech, so I know my way around the stuff. My problem is that I don't know much about microcontrollers and would like to get into this the right way. The right way being, that I want to start small and relatively cheap, but have the ability to grow without having to spend a lot of time/money to expand my capabilities. I have been looking at starter kits, but don't see too many that allow you to program and remove a chip to put in an external circuit though. Am I mistaken? I also need to keep the chip/circuit small and light for RC use.

This all stems from my desire to duplicate MR RC-Cam's "Nav-Lights" project, and that is my immediate goal. The problem is that it's a fairly old article and I'm not sure if/how the technology has changed. So far I've been looking at stuff from "Microchip Technologies", "Parallax", and PICAXE. I would like to be able to duplicate the "Nav-Lights" project without being limited to having to do the "One time burn" routine if possible. In other words, I would like to be able to use the RAM based technology if possible. I'm not dead set on it though.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Edited by cwd10

Hello

I Use the Mikroelektronika EasyPIC 4 development board, which i find really easy to use, its also cheap! (well i think it is for what you get) Start with a 16F84A pic which is flash programable and have a play, you get a code editing program with the board which allows you to write in basic, so its easy to get started.

EasyPIC4

Martin

Thanks for the info. I'll check it out right away.

Hi, Cwd

Easy Pic 4 is probably THE tool you need !!!

and for first steps ...free IDEs ( C, Basic or Pascal ... you choose !!! ) available from the same factory ...

Surely the most cost and use effective pack !!!

Alain

you get a code editing program with the board which allows you to write in basic