Sign in to follow this  
rcbamm

Can some one explain this to me?

Hi there.

My name is Dan and I am new to the RC-Cam forum and I was hoping someone could explain to me what I would need and how much and is it worth it to get GPS on a FPV setup?

From what I am seeing and reading I guess it is possible to fly your airplane via your computer on a GPS program like Google Earth. I read that I can map out on a program where I want the plane to fly, how fast I want it to fly, how high or low, etc...? would I be able to fly my airplane to my friend's house and back while watching it all on my computer? Can this GPS unit from Rangevideo do all this or some? http://rangevideo.com/index.php?main_page=...;products_id=90

Right now I am saving for the RangeVideo KX171 video setup to start FPV. I was going to save for a HobbyWireless video setup but I just saw a couple days ago how the KX171 claims to go farther and is cheaper then the one I wanted on HW. If any of you seen my thread on RCG for my homemade headtracker (mechanical headtracker B) ) I have that part covered. then I will need some video goggles. probably will save for the Headplay goggles.

Anyhelp will be appriciated!

Thanks! -Dan

Edited by rcbamm

The link you posted is just a GPS receiver alone, it will just give position, heading, speed, altitude,.. on its serial port, nothing more. To do what you want, it's an autopilot you need. A whole other story both in complexity and price.

The link you posted is just a GPS receiver alone, it will just give position, heading, speed, altitude,.. on its serial port, nothing more. To do what you want, it's an autopilot you need. A whole other story both in complexity and price.

Hmmm.... so, that GPS would give me a OSD of my heading speed and altitude? So that's all you need, just that GPS unit? what is the plug for?