D4RK1

First Steps twowards Video Piloting :P

Hi,

i bought myself a simple 2,4 Ghz Wireless Camera Set to try some things out..

Everything seems to be working fine. I haven´t done any Range Tests so far since the weather is not very inviting to go outdoors lately..

I started building a setup to fit the camera assemblage to my Easy Star but i think the plugs currently used on my Set are too bulky and maybe also too heavy to be convenient...

I would like to cut the plugs and solder the pieces together.. to show you i prepared a picture...

Beginnerset.jpg

Im no electronics expert so i just thought i might show you this, maybe there are some issues about shielding or anything like that, that i haven´t cosidered.

Thx in advance,

Jens

good idea !! get rid of as much dumb weight as possible.

but some things need attention:

Camera run on 5V or 12V ? how do you power that in your plane ?

TX unit run on 5V or 12v ? same question :-)

I see a 9V battery, but be warned, in some of those kits I have seen 5V regulators hidden in plugs and plastic cable assembly,

so you need to be sure of all that before you cut.

no info about where you got the stuff ?

part numbers ?

maybe a good idea to ask where you got it ? sometimes they even know their products and can help you with voltage and current requrements, so you dont end up frying new stuff.

TX Unit runs on 9-12V, can´t tell you about the camera though.. i will simply measure the resulting voltage on the camera end after cutting the cable and hooking up a 9V Block... if its not 9V on the other side then i guess there is a regulator hidden in the cable :P

Thx a lot for mentioning that. Better safe than sorry =)

I got the stuff from Hong Kong via Ebay... Shop named RVMshop $73,05 including shipping.

Edited by D4RK1

Just to keep you posted.