Sign in to follow this  
aaron_gx

Need a new radio... What kind, and PCM, or PPM?

I just finished my first FPV plane, an easystar, and the video link works excellent now... Now, I'm being limited by my 4ch chinese 72mhz radio and RX. I got out a about 1000' and it starts glitching like crazy, and cause a minor crash. I know the area is about as quiet for RF noise as it gets, so I beleive its time to upgrade to a better controller and receiver.

I was looking at possibly a Futaba 6EXA package. I was also looking at a JR SX600 on ebay aswell. I am relatively new to the RC scene, so bear with me... I dont have a lot of cash to spend, and these were relatively affordable. Will I get the kind of range I need from one of these units? Anything HAS to be better than my current setup. I would also like the 2 extra channels available for future pan/tilt & ailerons. (I am already using panning on the 4th channel).

Would a BERG reciever be better than the standard futaba or jr recievers?

And finally, for aircraft use, is PPM or PCM a better choice, and why?

Thanks in advance,

Aaron

I ended up buying a futaba 7caf 7 channel transmitter with a R168DF reciever. Do you guys think this will give me acceptable range for FPV piloting? I read good reviews about it, and dropped more than I expected to on it, but I think it'll be worth it in the end.

I can't help much as I don't use any of those radio's but I will say choose a good TX like Futaba and make shure you get the best receiver you can afford. Having said that I always use PPM and NOT PCM as I and some others would rather have control with glitches than not control at all. A few years ago I had to watch my glider circle down in front of me using PCM. After finding the glider there was no damage and the radio was working fine.

I like the little warning of the motor kicking you get with PPM when you are running out of range or in interference.