mike_s

RC transmitter antenna to p.c. soundcard - Part 1

Greetings,

As will become obvious as you read this post, I'm a beginner with electronics.

I've done some simple experiments with breadboards, TTL IC's, passive components,

and I know some of the very basics about d.c. and a.c. theory, but even a

fairly simple circuit / principle can quickly get me "dazed and confused."

I have a Futaba T6xAs transmitter and I am interested in viewing the transmitted waveforms on a p.c/soundcard oscilloscope. Actually, I'm interested in viewing the output of other circuits that I want to build as well, but I thought I'd start with something already built and working :)

This is the software I'm using : http://www.zeitnitz.de/Christian/Scope/Scope_en.html

The software is working with a mic plugged in to the soundcard, or with a sound source into the line in port.

Ok, so don't laugh too hard, but I naively tried hooking the antenna directly to the mic input (not really expecting it to work), by wrapping two wires around the tip and center conductors of "guitar" cord type connector, then wrapping the "tip wire" around the antenna. I tried putting the "center wire" on the (external) base of the transmitter antenna, and then tried "grounding" it against one of the metal parts of the face of the radio. Neither worked.

I also tried just plugging headphones into the mic jack of the soundcard, and holding the leads of the headphones near the transmitter antenna, thinking that the headphone leads might act as an antenna

So I have a few guesses on why it doesn't work. Please confirm / refute / ridicule / expand on my ideas.

1) Antennas transmit through air / space / vacum, not by direct contact

Any "direct" connect is doomed to fail.

2) A "direct" connection IS possible, but something a bit more sophisticated

than a bare cable touching the antenna is required.

If so, what would be required?

2a) I assume the (literally) micro / nano ? voltages generated by an antenna