Sign in to follow this  
mocam

is it possible?

Hi, ok I am sorry......an other newbie here.....but I have been flying rc planes for a few years now, and i want to take it to the next level. I am wanting to put a camera inside one of my planes and fly it was if I was inside the rc plane. Now, from what I am reading is that the gyro has to be hooked up into the trainers jack of the transmitter. My question is this, can I use an other two channel radio and hack the control sticks (removing/disconnecting them) and hook up a gyro to same location as the control sticks in transmiter. Is it that easy? My guess is not, but can that be done? Basically useing the 2 channel transmiter for controling the camera only, panning it up/down/left/right while keeping my original trans for flight only. If not, is there a circuit I need to build/buy? What needs to be done?? I know enough electronics to be dangerous....lol that usually ends up costing some $$, so I thought I would ask the pros first :) . Also would a standard gyro work, like the ones used in a rc helicoter or should I look for a certain kind? Last but not least, what micro colour video cam with sound is best? and what reciever for the camera is best?? Any help would be appreicated

i don't think they would work, cause if you move your head it will move, but it won't 'follow' your head movements, i think a better way of doing it may be infra red sensors cause this has a view of where your head is pointing whereas the gyros just know you have moved your head, you get me? i would love to do this too if you are successful

if you mount the ir sensors on the transmitter you won't have to have the on a massive framework out infront of you