Sign in to follow this  
DArkwIng

EM-406A

Trying to get NMEA from this su...r an only getting jibbrich.. using a opto coupler to RS-232 direclty to pin 4 and 5 and power of course.

doing it wrong? :P do i need to send some sort of command to it... and if, how?

i'm a total noob on this but shouldn't it just send me NMEA stings that I should be able to see in Hyperterminal or putty?

Edited by DArkwIng

Yes, it should give NMEA, unless it's set to talk in SiRF protocol. Is the baudrate correct?

What exactly did you make as an interface? the 0-5V levels need to be converted to +/-12V and inverted to be compliant with a PC's RS232 port.

Yes, it should give NMEA, unless it's set to talk in SiRF protocol. Is the baudrate correct?

What exactly did you make as an interface? the 0-5V levels need to be converted to +/-12V and inverted to be compliant with a PC's RS232 port.

As the documentation says (@ http://www.usglobalsat.com/download/46/em406a_ug.pdf), we are using

4800 baud

stopbit 1

databit 8

paritet none

flowcontrol none.

As an interface cable between the PC and the GPS, we used an optical interface cable, witch works like an MAX3232 chip. Converts RS232 signal between 12V and 3V both ways. In other word, an opto coupler for RS232. As a power supply, we used the muvium controller for stable 5V DC.

But we are attempt to use an Muvium controller ( uVMDEM-SBC65EC) to pick up the signals. And 5V signal should work fine. But then we still got some useless data from the GPS. Dec. goes from -127 to +127 while reading the input. And theese values does not make sense even when we tries to convert them to Characters.

So what we need, is an instruction how to read data from the GPS and display them as a NMEA-string. We have tried to put the RX-pin at the GPS to high-level with a resistor to 5V.