Sign in to follow this  
Gster

Are packaged systems available

I am a geologist and I would like a system to help me survey properties. I am interested in mostly shooting straight down. I have no time to put in on developing a new system. Can anyone help me put a high-tech system together? Gster

Edited by Gster

Gee Whiz Terry. That looks like a good one. Wish I could afford one. Might even be able to double the flight time by adding a 2d battery in parallel but would reduce the payload by 6oz to 12oz. Still a reasonable payload.

Edited by W3FJW-Ron

Wish I could afford one.

Are you saying the starting price tag of $14,995 is a problem? :) A DiY Mikrokopter would knock the price down dramatically. But, for those that don't have the time to build such things, then the options are limited.

If the budget is small, and you can spare a few hours for assembly times, then perhaps a GWS SlowStick R/C model (upgraded with a brushless motor) and digital still camera would suffice. But the SlowStick can be a handful to fly in the wind, so they definitely are not the Holy Grail.

Naw. The $14,995 isn't a problem. That is, if I win the lottery, but on a 1200/mo income, I'd still be ~500 short after starving & saving for a year...

I'll have plenty of time in a year or so after I get my motorhome on the road & maybe tackle it then. I've collected most everything I need over the past year except for a few bits of carbon fiber and programming equipment & knowlege. Still need to get a head tracking & GPS unit though unless I can figger out how to integrate one of my Delorme units into it.. Just have to figure out how to teach this old dog new tricks.

Lotsa fun.....

Edited by W3FJW-Ron

Or wait a few weeks until this one is available.

I know someone who has been there to see a demo and now has one on order - was really impressed.

Edited by Kilrah

Or you could order a ready to fly Mikrokopter to this guy;

Yea, I've seen one of those, namely this model: