danh

Updated RCST

Hi, I'm new, as of today. My background is in programming. But, I'm wanting to learn electronics. (My brother is a EE and I want to comunicate with him better ;) . And, my whole family is either into model or full scale aircraft. So, your kind of projects are very interesting to me :D !!

I went to the electronic store this morning to buy caps for a blown motherboard and also thought I'd buy parts for your servo testor. But, I realized that the 2003 schematic specifies a 4.8V power supply, which was fine when I was using NiMh batteries. But I'm totally Lipo, now. So, do you have an updated schematic that would facilitate a 7.4 or 11.1 battery, with maybe a switch to swap between the two? (All my batteries are two or three cell).

Also, is the info on your FAQ sheet about PIC programmers up-to-date? What is the best low-cost programmer? And, does it come with documentation?

Can't wait to develop the expertise and arrange my schedule to work on the CAM projects. I'm looking forward to launching into those.

BTW, I mentioned that I want to build a servo tester for the experience. But, are there commercial ones out there worth looking at, e.g. more functionality?

Thanks in advance!!

Dan H.

But, I realized that the 2003 schematic specifies a 4.8V power supply, which was fine when I was using NiMh batteries. But I'm totally Lipo, now. So, do you have an updated schematic that would facilitate a 7.4 or 11.1 battery, with maybe a switch to swap between the two? (All my batteries are two or three cell).

With your LiPO powered R/C setup, you are using an ESC with a built-in BEC (or standalone BEC) that regulates the voltage to about 5V. So under the hood, the commonly used 4.8VDC R/C power is still there. It just isn't in the form of a 4-cell NiCd or NiMh. It's now a voltage regulator.