Sign in to follow this  
KMac

Budget wireless HD video

Hello all,

You seem to have a good community here, this is my first post, but I'm sure I'll be more involved due to the project I'm working on. I'm a university student studying mechatronics engineering, and we've been tasked with designing an autonomous indoor UAV with wireless video for <$1000.

The budget and several requirements are non-negotiable. The video stream we have to supply must be at least 1280x768 @ 10 fps. This is going to be fed into a ground unit computer for image recognition on each frame. Now I've looked for hours upon hours at the various video options, focusing on robotics, DIY projects and RC projects. I've found numerous options in the VGA range, but nothing at the resolution we require.

Here are my ideas so far, I'm basically looking for input/insight into what might be most likely to work, possible resources I've missed, and common products, interfaces, etc that I should be focusing on.

So far I think I need a camera; possibly a video processing module or something to down sample the video to 10 fps, since it will probably be 30 fps from the camera; a transmitter; and a receiver. These may or may not be integrated when purchased.

My issue is: What format should the video be in each stage of the journey, and what interfaces should be used between the electronic components (UART bus???).

Camera #1: (I haven't found one yet, but) A video camera module (no housing, just lens holder & PCB).

Camera #2: Cheap light camcorder like the "Aiptek A-HD 720P 8MP CMOS High Definition Camcorder" and use the HDTV component output. This will probably end up being the most viable option (due to limited budget). Obviously weight is very important, so it's not nice having to use a camera with a housing when the housing isn't required, but what are you going to do...

Down Sampling: Haven't really looked into these options yet. Advice would be helpful.