Hi folks

I'm new to antenna design and my knowledge to polarization are poor.

Can any of you explain to me the differense between vertical, horizontal and any other polarization i don't know about ??

And what is the best solution for my video downlink ??

Regards

Tommy ( Norway )

Hi Tommy,

This is a great question, and a great thread to start on the new forum with it's nifty search feature.

** Side note to Mr. RC-CAM, I think this topic definitely deserves to be in a FAQ

First note that horizontal and vertical polarization are descriptions of a 'linearly' polarized antenna. Another polarization is 'circular' polarization, and can be described as 'left-hand circular polarized' (LCP) or 'right-hand circular polarized' (RCP)

Antenna's of a given polarization are most effective at receiving RF signals from antennas of similar polarization. So a vertically polarized antenna will receive the maximum possible signal from another vertically polarized antenna. Conversely, the vertically polarized antenna will receive a much reduced signal from a horizontally polarized antenna.

The kicker for our application is that the polarization of the antenna can change simply by changing the orientation of the antenna. So a vertically polarized antenna can quickly become a horizontally polarized antenna when our aircraft is banking hard.

One way I use to solve this is to match a circular polarized antenna on the ground to the linearly polarized antenna on the aircraft. In this manner, the changing orientation of the antenna on the aircraft is recieved more uniformly by the antenna on the ground. This method does not come without cost however, since I loose some sensitivity when I use a linear polarized antenna with a circular polarized antenna, however I accept this shortcoming in exchange for more uniform coverage.