Sign in to follow this  
twinturbostang

Video rolling issue

Hey guys. Been a LONG time since I posted here. I was out of FPV for a couple of years but have recently taken it back up. Since then I've been flying for a few months. Just recently got the dpcav 900MHz video system and it works great. But... today I had a bit of a problem. While I was flying, the video image started "rolling" in my goggles. Not exactly sure how to explain it. The video image started scrolling upward with a horizontal black bar and the remaining part of the image appearing on the bottom of the screen. It continues to roll upward and would repeat the cycle every 1-2 seconds I'm guessing. Is that a video sync issue or something? I recorded the flight, but what's weird is the recording never shows this. There is some noise every once and a while. Plus I also have some sort of video banding issue (maybe from a switch regulator). I'm wondering if this is maybe causing my goggles to freak out. I'm using an OLD OLD pair of I-Glasses. I've seen this behavior before, but just very quickly (not continuous). It was so bad today that I almost had to hand the Tx to my spotter.

Anyway, here's the recording of the flight:

Password is: CASA

For most of the first half of the video, I was experiencing this rolling image. I found if I stay really close in, and low, that it would go away or was at least good enough to fly. But again, the recorded image does not show this. Have my glasses had it???

Also, attached are pics of my video pod and a screen capture of the banding (visible in the sky). In the video pod pic are the camera (KX131), dpcav microphone, 5V regulator for the KX131 (stock reg. that came with it, removed from its plastic case), 900MHz Tx, and 3S 730 mAh battery that powers the video gear. I thought that the stock KX131 regulator was pretty good, but I'm starting to suspect it is the source of the video banding.

Thanks for the help!

Brian

post-1515-069670400 1289712506_thumb.jpg