Sign in to follow this  
bloisy

Gaui 330xs Motor problem? ESC?

Please help! Gaui motor / ESC Problem?

Hi everyone,

I hope someone can offer me some advice as I'm going gray and bald at the same time over getting this Gaui 330xs to fly right.

If you take a look at the short video I've added below, one of the motors is acting up on me and I cannot figure out what the problem is. I'm quite new to this and and am learning as I go. Any and all help would be appreciated.

As far as I can tell the spinners are on correctly and the propellers are tight. A friend of mine suggested the ESC may be wonky. (?)

Is it a bad motor? Could it be the ESC not allowing enough power to the motor?

Thanks for helping!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2tPE6_hlryE

Setting the gain too high causes instability like seen in the video. Reduce it a lot and then see if the wobbles go away. Keep in mind that on a normal installation the gain is controlled by the Aux R/C channel. On 4-channel radios (not recommended), where the green gain servo wire is not used, the gain is set by the mechanical pot on the Gaui control module. This pot does nothing when the green gain wire is installed in the Rx.

If it is a hardware problem then I doubt it is an ESC issue. However, Gaui motor failures are common due to worn or crash damaged bearings.

Setting the gain too high causes instability like seen in the video. Reduce it a lot and then see if the wobbles go away. Keep in mind that on a normal installation the gain is controlled by the Aux R/C channel. On 4-channel radios (not recommended), where the green gain servo wire is not used, the gain is set by the mechanical pot on the Gaui control module. This pot does nothing when the green gain wire is installed in the Rx.

If it is a hardware problem then I doubt it is an ESC issue. However, Gaui motor failures are common due to worn or crash damaged bearings.

Hi,

Thanks for the reply.