Terry

Which camera do you use for AP?

I have been using my Canon G9 for a few years now and been very happy with the results but I am wondering is there smaller/lighter camera that gives similar results available now?

What camera are you using and why?

Terry

I was using an old Optio S40 that died last year. Despite its low cost it was a reasonable camera for aerial hobby use on my small R/C foamy airplane. Before that I was using a Sony U20, which was remarkable only for its small size (it was only 2MP, the holy grail 12 years ago). Nowadays it seems everyone is using the GoPro Hero because it has affordable HD quality video (and with YouTube's help, video now dominates still photos). You're probably looking for a "professional" class still camera solution, which would be way past my budget. :)

I dont like the gopro much, fish eye and jellow and yes I am looking for a good stills camera. Not pro class but I want if possible to match or better the G9 quality in a lighter camera. It seems to me that with the fast rate of progress in digital cameras there must be something better or lighter by now????

I do have a couple of ideas but I dont want to post them just yet...

Terry

I have the G12 as a 'point n shoot' and love it - even the wife can take decent photo's with it.

I recently gave my G5 to my youngest.

I used to have a G7 as well.

Have you tried the G15 Terry?

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/canon-powershot-g15/3

I was tempted as it's smaller than my G12, but Canon fixed the LCD panel as per the G7/G9 and I like the flip out panel for those obscure shots.

I guess it very much depends on your requirements and budget.

There are better cameras, but I like Canon!

Nigel.

Hi Nigel, I'm really looking for something a little lighter or better than my G9 that I use on my planes now.