Sign in to follow this  
flyby

Hello and some questions from a newb to get things rolling.

Hello everybody.

I'm new to fpv and am in the process of buying componenets.

I already bought a camera and a set of lawmate 1.2 tx\rx.

I live in a valley in the mountains on theoutskirts of town and am surrounded by mostly trees.

I haven't bought googles

I wear glasses and am farsighted.

My questions would be:

What kind of goggle would suit me best? I was leaning towards the dominators.

What kind of antenna's should I be looking for? I want 5-6db gain.

Plus I want OSD for distance, heading, altitude, voltage, airspeed, etc.

Thanks

1. A typical far-sighted condition should be fine with FatShark Dominators.

2. Lawmate's stock monopole antennas have low performance. On 1.2GHz installations a common antenna upgrade is a 2-3 dBi omni dipole on vTx, +8dBi Patch on vRx. It is important to choose antennas that are tuned to the 1.2GHz frequency you are using. So pay close attention to the antenna specs before you buy them.

3. Endless OSD choices are out there that can provide the telemetry data you mentioned. The choice is really up to your budget. Long time favorites are EagleTree and RangeVideo. If you are brave and don't care about support, then there are plenty of cheap OSD systems sold by China based FPV Vendors. Research customer feedback before you make your final decision.

• Like 1

2. Lawmate's stock monopole antennas have low performance. On 1.2GHz installations a common antenna upgrade is a 2-3 dBi omni dipole on vTx, +8dBi Patch on vRx. It is important to choose antennas that are tuned to the 1.2GHz frequency you are using. So pay close attention to the antenna specs before you buy them.
Will THIS one work well?, ....also do I need some kind of filter ...2.4/1.2=2 exactly.
( ...working on my HAM but haven't learned everything yet. )
Thanks so much for the info.