Sign in to follow this  
Mr.RC-Cam

DaVinci 3D Printer Blog

I'm new to the 3D printer scene. I thought it might be useful to share my introductory experience with others that have a R/C hobby background and enjoy using technology based tools. This might help other DiY hobbyists like me that are on the fence about getting one and give them the push to join in on the fun.

My story begins with the 2010 CES show in Las Vegas. An enthusiastic guy named Bre Pettis was showing off a crude plywood constructed 3D printer kit he and two buddies designed. Their new company was called Makerbot and the primitive DiY kit was about $1K USD. I stood in line to talk to him about ordering it, but eventually gave up because the line wasn't moving and I had to move on.

Things have dramatically changed since then. Nowadays there's several sub-$1K USD 3D printers to chose from. A few weeks ago I ordered the da Vinci 1.0 made by XYXprinting. It was only $400 USD shipped from Amazon. It safely arrived in a huge carton and within minutes of the unboxing I printed my first ABS plastic part. Nothing to assemble; just unpack, plug into AC, load the filament, and print. My first project was a sample chosen from the printer's front panel menu.

Overall, I have to say daVinci's printer looks/works impressively and the price is a bargain. There's simply no comparison to the plywood constructed machine I saw at CES 5 years ago.

First, here's what my new 3D printer looks like:

post-2-0-60024200-1420069793_thumb.jpg

Here's a shot of the heated bed and printhead.

post-2-0-37448700-1420069844_thumb.jpg