Sign in to follow this  
Dr. Soong

A few newby questions

I am very interested in what this site has to offer. It seems that using this site as a guide it isn't too difficult build a RC-CAM copter. However, I am completely new to RC aviation and I don't know what helicopter to buy. I was looking at the Hirobo Sceadu Evolution .30 for starters. The kit is about $300. Is that a good deal? What else will I have to buy, besides a radio? Will it hold a camera? Like I said, I am completely new to this hobby so I apologize if I'm asking stupid questions.

Also, would it be possible to have two cameras on a helicopter and hack a program to let you see in 3D? :huh:

Thanks in advance! B)

I've flown electric planes - but have no idea about helicopters. I'd like to be able to generate DVDs off the images I take with a heli-cam. I also need the heli to be electric as I do not have a garage and don't want the risk of fuel in the house.

Any one have ideas/articles/suggestings of how to get started?

If you are new to the hobby then I suggest that you NOT start out with an R/C helicopter. The learning curve is 10 times longer than learning to fly a basic model airplane. If a new comer is expecting to fly coordinated circuits in the air, while snapping carefully framed photos, then he/she will be in for a grave disappointment. That sort of skill takes serious amounts training.

Instead, I suggest entry level RC'ers start with a simple electric park flyer model airplane. The most popular is a GSW SlowStick (budget $100 for the airplane kit, batteries, and charger). You can certainly fly it with an R/C system that is also capable of controlling helicopters, so your radio purchase can be reused when you move on to helicopters.