I'm sure this question has come up a million times, but please indulge me if you will.

As a newbie, I was totally unaware that a ham license is required to operate the now ubiquitous plethora of CCTV gadgets operating on the 1.2 and 2.4 Ghz frequencies.

Can someone offer a summary of the license requirements, such as what level license is needed, exam required, power restrictions, etc.

I have followed some of the links to try to get these answers, but deciphering the FCC rules.....well, they are not exactly simple to follow.

Very few of the security equipment sites make any mention of licensing. I did find one that mentioned it in the microprint at the bottom of the page. These devices are now so ubiquitous that I'm guessing that very few users are actually licensed.

Thanks, in advance for your help!

Tom

Can someone offer a summary of the license requirements, such as what level license is needed, exam required, power restrictions, etc.

(1) License: Technician Class. Cost is free, good for 10 years. Can be renewed.

(2) Exam: No-Code exam. Administered in nearly all communities by the local ham clubs. Cost to take test is under $15.

(3) Power Restrictions: Generally speaking, under 1500 watts PEP.

I can't stop thinking about this licensing thing.

I just spent a few minutes purusing the X10.com site.....arguably the largest retailer of home security systems in this country, and the most frequently used cameras for projects on "our" site, yet NOWHERE on that site (X10) is there any mention that a license is required to operate their cameras! Even a quick scan of a few hundred messages on their forum.....nothing about licensing.

How can this be?

The FCC MUST be looking the other way on this issue. Otherwise they would require retailers to ask their customers to show proof of a valid HAM license before they can buy these products......yes?