I have a surface application where I would like to take the guts out of a Hitec Laser 6 radio Tx and install them in my own custom case.

Is this legal?

I also would like to control multiple pan-tilts (surface use) from a single transmitter, but I understand that switching xtals on a factory model R/C Tx is verboten by the FCC in the US, but legal in most other countries. Is this true? I don't understand why it would be illegal, but then I'm relatively new to all of this.

The information that is available on RC-cam is amazing. I did see something about controlling multiple cameras on an aircraft (from a single Rx?). Is anyone aware of a method to switch channels, or otherwise control two Rx from a single Tx for surface use? The receivers would be separated by some distance. I want to do it without wires.

Thanks!

Tom

I have a surface application where I would like to take the guts out of a Hitec Laser 6 radio Tx and install them in my own custom case. Is this legal?

No. The technical info on file with the FCC includes packaging. Yours would no longer reflect the submitted data.

... I understand that switching xtals on a factory model R/C Tx is verboten by the FCC in the US, but legal in most other countries. Is this true? I don't understand why it would be illegal...

The required spectral tolerances in the USA are tighter than all other countries. We have commercial users in between our channels (big industrial stuff like cranes). The R/C makers are not willing to ensure that their designs will meet the required FCC specs under all possible situations. Multiplex's marketing says you can swap their Tx xtals. But according to what I can see in their FCC submissions, they did not present specific data that supported this. I guess they feel strongly about the stability of their RF amp design. Or, maybe they have deeper pockets and good lawyers?

Here is more Tx xtal info from Peter Berg (Berg R/C): http://www.bergent.net/crystals.html