jtprouty

Fuel Level Sensor Success!

Hi All,

I'm relatively new to electronics but have had some success that you might be interested in. I've been trying to find a way to monitor fuel levels but couldn't find anything on the market that looked like it would work. After searching around and doing a lot of reading I've come up with a circuit that actually works!

It's done using a Quantum QT301-D processor (http://www.qprox.com/products/qt300_301.php) and some very basic circuitry. The biggest challenge was coming up with probes to actually measure the fuel since it measures the capacitance of the fuel. I ended up using copper sheet on the outside of the tank and a piece of small copper tubing inserted through the top of the tank. Now that the system is working I can tell exactly where the fuel level is by looking at my voltmeter. I'll but outputting that information to the ground station via an ADC.

I can post pictures if anyone is interested.

Happy flying,

Jim

Very cool. One of the things that you need to observe is that the calibration is often affected by fuel brand, oil type, and alcohol/nitro content.

At least that is what I ran into. The fix is easy -- just create different profiles in your software for the fuel types you use and allow access to them at the field.

Hi Mike,

I found that two strips outside the tank were too sensitive to outsite fields and cause too much interference. The copper tube inside the tank works very well right now. Installing it in the plane on Tuesday and hope to flight test it during the week.

Happy flying,

Jim

Hi Guys,

I'm attaching a couple of pix to these posts as I'm not sure how to upload pix to this board. This post include on of the fule probes made of copper tubing. The tubing I used in the fuel tank is 1/16" with the ends soldered closed to keep fuel out.

post-6-1097270346_thumb.jpg