veteran

Receivers With IEEE Output Connector

I am a videographer by trade and as such I need to capture my footage better than VHS quality(if possible). I am just beginning to compile a list of parts needed to build such a setup however one roadblock that I have run into is trying to find a receiver that has IEEE(firewire) output(s). Granted that my planned camera will only have a Y/C connector to the transmitter but I am hoping that once the signal is transmitted that I should be able to capture the video signal without it degrading any further.

My plans are to(beside having fun!)compile stock aerial footage of Maui to use in future video projects. If anyone knows of such receivers or have any links, please let me know.

Many, MANY thanks in advance!

Doc Del

The receivers that mate to the lightweight video transmitters, that we use in R/C AP, are not offered with integrated firewire connectivity. However, a good quality wireless system, with high res CCD camera, will offer better than broadcast quality if you feed it into a digital camcorder. You'll get the firewire from the recorder.

Some receivers including an USB2 output along with the video one begin to appear. This could be a good thing to try, but of course the lag problem is again very likely to occur... not an issue if recording is the only goal. The quality is not interface-dependent as long as it's not USB1.1 which has a too low bandwidth for full res capture. The quality will depend on the encoder included in the receiver. When they are available we'll test one to see.

IEEE(firewire)

As a side note, the IEEE designation for firewire is 1394

:)

Bill

Why not just use a slightly larger airplane and put a small digital camcorder inside, firewire it off the tape when you land. I have a pusher airplane easily capable of fitting a digital camcorder in, when I worked with Dave Jones of AUAV down in florida we built an airplane that had 2 camcorders in it and only flew on a saito 100.