Cyb

Altimeter circuit

Hello,

I am thinking in building my own altimeter circuit and I was wondering if anyone of you already built this circuit? Which pressure sensor would you recommend ?

I'v just built such a circuit.Using a motorola 4115,with an op.amp to limit the resolution to a theoretical 10k/ft. If you register with Freescale,I think thats what this division of Motorola call themselves now,you can get a couple of 4115's as samples for free!

You may also need a ADC,to interface a micro,if you want better than 10bits resolution.Try the Maxim 186(8 channel) or Maxim 187(Single channel) These can be obtained,also for free at the Maxim web site.

Just let me know if I can give you any more help.

Lyn. :D

Edited by Johnstorm

Hello,

I must admit I am quite new in the electronics and micro-controllers world, and I have some troubles choosing the right component. From the Maxim's website, I see that the Max189 has an external voltage reference from 0 to 5V whereas the Max187 has a internal voltage reference of 4.096V. Can't I simply connect +5V to the ext voltage ref pin to get 0 -> +5V résolution on the max189 ?

Or do you know a 8051 core micro-controller with an ADC and a limited number of IO pins ?

Thank you for your help.

Yes you can connect Ref to your 5v supply on the Max189,which does not have an internal reference,In fact this is the way it's done.As on the Max187,with internal reference you have to use either-internal reference, pull the Shdn pin high.Or float the Shdn pin(don't connect at all)to use your external 5v reference.If you order samples of the Max189,the one I am using,try to opt for the Max189AEPA (8 pin dip),or Max189AEWE (16 pin SMT).Check the downloadable spec sheet.

I personally have opted to use the Atmel AVR range of micro's.And for this particular project the Atmel Mega8,check them out!

Or do you know a 8051 core micro-controller with an ADC and a limited number of IO pins ?