Sign in to follow this  
filteredsoul

Please help an R/C brother

First of all, let me say sorry if this is in the wrong spot (or forum) I didn't know where else to go...

I am an experienced rc pilot that has gained lots of advice from RC-Cam's site in the past.

I am also a musician who needs to mod some gear. I know it is an easy project, I just need some help.

On my amplifier, I can change channels between a clean sound and a distorted sound. The footswitch that controls the channels achieves this by "shorting" the tip to the sleeve of the cable that attaches the footswitch to the amp. There is a led that lights up when the connection is made. (thus changing the channel)

Sounds simple right?

Here's my challenge...

I want to add a second led that is lit when the other channel is operational. If the switch is open (no connection) there's no power to light a led.

There has to be a switch (double pole, double throw, triple, etc...) that will allow me to open the main connection and close another one -just for the other led.

If anyone can help me with this, I'd be really greatful.

Thanks,

Dan

profile-AT-nclgraphics.com

First, let's consider how the switching circuit is developed. I've never actually worked on amps with "effects packages"; pretty much limited to rebuilding old Fenders. In fact I recently finished a Bassman 75 for my much older brother; new rectifiers, caps, and a NOS set of Amperex tubes. But, very limited experience with the newer guys so, I'm gonna take a guess or two.