rumme

Night lights for r/c plane...

Hello..I am new to this forum and just read the writeup on installing LED lights on r/c planes..I noticed that the suggestion is to not go over the current supplied by the battery/BEC..which is 5volts...unfortunately it seems that if one wants to use the best/brightest lights for this project..your basically stuck to a maximum of 2 LED"S is there anyway around this?..like perhaps not only using the 1 empty jack of the planes reciever..but also wiring into the 2 other servo jacks by soldering into the wires coming off of them..which would allow for a total of 6 of the brightest lights??...Im new to this project and would appreciate any help/advice to get me thru this project and be succesfull..My plane uses a 9.6V 1650 mah-nimh battery pack...thanks...Id also like to know the best colors as far as brightness and visabilty in the night sky..and if possible..I really wanted to use LED"S that would stay on constant for the front of my plane and use flashing LED"S for the rear..to better help with orientation while flying..this is necessary for me since I am severely color blind..and using different color LED'S may not be enuff in my case to help with plane orientation...

...unfortunately it seems that if one wants to use the best/brightest lights for this project..your basically stuck to a maximum of 2 LED"S is there anyway around this?..

How did you come to the conclusion that only 2 LED's max were possible? Generally speaking, more are easily accommodated on any spare or shared servo jack. The LED's draw under 25mA each, so the max count is related to how you are powering your Rx (BEC vs. raw battery).

I thought it said to try and stay under the voltage amount put out by the bec..which is normally 5volts..and the best/brightest bulbs seem to need 2-3 volts a piece...so arent these numbers added up if the bulbs are put in series??...