Sign in to follow this  
tkilloren

PIC programming question (PanCam Project)

I am trying to program my PIC with the PanCam hex file.

I am getting a warning message that reads as follows:

No oscillator calibration value found, do you want to use value from file (OFFFh) instead?

I have programmed the first chip by pressing "yes" to this query. The chip does not function. I have checked and re-checked my wiring, and all the pins are at the correct logic. The servo twitches upon connection, but does not respond to the stick.

I am currently programming a second chip after pressing "No" in response to the warning message.

My settings read as follows:

Checksum: 45F8

ID value: 1E00

config. word: 0006h

It takes approx. 15 minutes to complete the programming, is this normal?

The fuses were correctly set upon loading the hex file.

Sorry, I'm new at this, but I am determined as well.

No oscillator calibration value found, do you want to use value from file (OFFFh) instead?

I believe your programmer thinks the factory placed OSCAL byte is missing from the PIC12C508. Whatever you do, don't choose to use the value from the file!

I have programmed the first chip by pressing "yes" to this query.

Oops, too late. That chip is probably of no use to you now.

I am currently programming a second chip after pressing "No" in response to the warning message.

That is a good idea.

It takes approx. 15 minutes to complete the programming, is this normal?

Something must be wrong. It should take less than a minute. I think your programmer is bad or is setup wrong. Are you sure you selected the correct chip in the programmer's menu?

If you have more problems, use your programmer to read a programmed PanCam PIC and then post the saved hex file for me to look at.

I AM GOING DAFT!!!

I bought a new programmer and a sleeve of 25 fresh chips from Mouser.

I managed to program two chips that work as advertised........BUT,