Sign in to follow this  
bweight

Nav Lights problem

Hi, I'm new to the forum and I've been working feverishly on your Nav-light project posted here on your site.. Now, I've never done this type of thing before, but I know it's fairly straight forward... (or so I would think :D )

Anyways, I've programmed the PIC chip I believe.. All the errors that you said will happen, did, however, I have no clue whether it did or not.

I have no clue how to make the printed PCB's so I'm using standard perfboard from Radio shack, and making a nice mess with the wires underneath. I lost myself with the wires for a bit, but I re-looked over everything tonight and I noticed a few things were out of order so I fixed that.

Here are the problems I'm running into..

1. Determining values for LED Resistors.. I am using 20mA Superbright LED's that I purchased... I've used your calculator, and I think the value came out to something like 80.. it was below 100ohms.. Does this mean I *have* to use that rating of a resistor or can I go over that? If I go over that, do I risk lowering the intensity of the LED?

2. Upon plugging in J1 and J2 to their respective spots, I noticed that the LED status light stayed off.. Which is good from reading the instructions. Next, I had full range of motion on my Throttle servo connected to the circuit, so I assume that I've got that setup correctly. However, the LED strobe (so far the only one I have completed the circuit on) did not blink, blip, turn on, or anything. I checked over the wires again, but I think there's such a mass under there that it's easier, and less of a headache to start over.

Could someone please point me in the right direction and tell me whether getting the throttle to work, is a sign of a few wires out of place, or is that irrelevant to the PIC chip and it's programming in this situation. I have no idea to be quite frank.

I would really like to "etch" a PCB, but as I stated earlier, I just don't know how too..