laserbounce

Designing gps photography plane

I am new to the UAV/RPV world, but am interested in building a small plane with an onboard digital camera and a gps for navigating the plane to a programmed coordinate location to take a picture. I imagine its been done before, but I would like to build the smallest and simplest design for it. I want to use an inexpensive gps unit like a Garmin Geko and interface to a microcontroller (like a PIC) that drives the servos. Do you guys have any advice or know any good websites that could assist me in developing it?

Thanks,

John

Edited by laserbounce

Do you have experience programming PICs? If so what languages have you used.

How comfortable are you in designing PCBs?

I ask to know what level of a project you would be comfortable with.

Edited by mikep

Mike,

I have experience writing custom programs for PIC microcontrollers in C and assembly and etched a few custom PCB's. I tried searching the net for info about gps interface communication protocols and found a few sites, but I have not yet figured out how to implement it for plane navigation.

John

I basically have what you are looking for written in PicBasicPro.

I have finished the code for the navigation and most of it for the altitude hold.

Just the fluff left for altitude.

The PCB for the navigation is complete and the altitude module still needs to a bit of work however I have put it on the breadboard and it just needs to be translated to a PCB.

If you are interested in completing it, and sharing it let me know.

You can see basically what I did at:

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/rcpilot/

Take a look in the Files section.

I woukld like to simply put the code up somewhere on a public CVS server as well as the design docs etc.

Cheers,

Mike

Edited by mikep

Hi John,

If you main goal is to 'roll your own' then it sounds like you are well on your way with Mike's assistance.

If the end result is your goal, then you should look at the pdc10 available here: