moelski

RC-CAM build with AVR

Hi -AT-all!

Because I´m not really a freind of PICs I spend some time yesterday to build up a RC-CAM Module on AVR basis. I used an old AT90S2313 for this. After I studied the RC-CAM informations I got the most things working really quickly:

- rc signal is detected correct

- I understand the working of my GSmart Mini 3 Cam

- I wrote some simple routines to set the buttons from the cam to 0 or 1 (with this I can switch on the Cam and take photos)

But I have still a little problem. I will use your photo to explain my prob ...

bk_pic1.jpg

So what I am doing is the following:

- I set the portpin to 1 / High (in your pic it is G) and the cam switched on

- After 100ms I set the portpin to 0 / Low

- If I want the cam to switch off I set the Portpin to 1 again

And here is my problem: the cam don´t shut down. It is still powered on.

I take my multimeter and measured the voltage at this pin. If I switch on for the first time the pin is at about 4-4,5V.

If I want the cam to switch off there are only about 500-700mV. This is why the cam don´t switch off.

But what is the cause of this very low voltage? If I cut the cam (pin G) from my µC everything works fine. I have always ~4V.

Also I added a resistor (330 Ohm) between µC and Cam (pin G). But the effect is the same.

Has anyone an idea why the voltage is so low in this special case?

Greetz moelski

- After 100ms I set the portpin to 0 / Low

Never drive the signal low. The microcontroller should TRI-STATE instead when the signal is idle. This can be done by switching the pin to an input. This may not help your problem, but it will prevent future issues.

As far as your problem goes, I suspect the voltage your microcontroller is using is not the same as the voltage running the camera's internal electronics. Connect your microcontroller's power pins as indicated in the published project.

Hi !

-AT-Mr.RC-Cam :

Thx for the informations. I will see what I can do.