Sign in to follow this  
cohiba

Newbie needs some pointers

Howdy all,

I'm a rookie when it comes to model planes but I have worked heavily on model cars and boats. My wife bought me a simple trainer for my b-day and now I am totally hooked. I already have a project in mind and would love to get some pointers from some people with experience.

I want to build a plane that I can fly from my laptop. I want to have a video cam on the plane and I want to be able to use a USB joystick to control the movement. I need pointers on what cameras are the best (lightest, most reliable, least expensive, etc.) and I have been going crazy trying to find a way to us a PC joystick to control the plane. I obviously will need some type of transmitter to send the signal to the plane but I haven't been able to find one yet. Any recommendations? Has anyone tried a similar project? Also do you recommend any specific types of model kits for this project? I imagine I will have to play a lot with the planes' balance and it will have to handle the extra weight and drag from the camera equipment. Any help ya’ll can provide is greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Why not :). This is just a hobby for me and I want to see if I can do it. My last project was to build a model of the Orca (the boat from Jaws) from scratch. My brother asked me why not just buy a model kit. What would be the fun in that ? :). I used to love playing Flight Simulator... I guess I just want to take that to the next level.

I seem to remember someone using a pc joystick connected to the trainer port of a tx but no laptop involved. You can veiw your camera using a laptop but the time delays can be a problem. I just dont see the advantage of using a laptop, it causes problems where there otherwise are none. I am sure it can be done if you must do it that way.

Good Luck, Terry